La Pieuvre


La Pieuvre was formed in 1999 by an initially informal group of musicians who wanted to try out a new pattern of collective work. It draws its members from a varied musical scene and has brought together players from numerous smaller groups working at the freer end of jazz and rock as well as in electronic and instrumental contemporary music.

This extended unit has its place in the field of European large-group improvisation, but should also be seen in the context of the ‘conduction’ movement, exemplified by the methods of such as Butch Morris – although there is no claim made here for him either as a frame of reference or a point of departure. The music unfolds moment by moment, shaped on the instant by the gestures addressed to the living organism in front of him by Olivier Benoit (in his other role than as guitarist). Signs, looks, gestures and mime, the whole range of body-language is called upon in this exchange. The desire for interaction – implying precision and looseness, interpretation and distortion, the two-way flow of information, in which individual autonomy goes hand in hand with a sense of collective responsibility – makes available a sound-world of great richness, and makes of this singular ensemble perhaps more a platform for research into conducted improvisation than a performing orchestra.

The conductor’s vocabulary of signs, in continual process of development, is worked out and assimilated as the need arises, ever more finely tuned to meet the demands of the conductor: texture, timbre, duration, motif, sweep, rhythmic cycles and loops, antiphonal and stereophonic interplay (facilitated by the layout of the orchestra and the doubling of certain instruments) are mobilized into spontaneous through-composition. The energy at its source is drawn out and woven into a unique music, flowing and unobstructed.

Over the last few years La Pieuvre has explored many avenues of research. The practical results display the resolutely musical thought which has always been its guide. With this in mind, the recordings put together here act as a showcase for this contemporary orchestra’s commitment to its longterm venture. Whether in the studio or the open air, the concert hall or the radio broadcast, accompanying dance or silent film, its work remains inseparable from the very fabric of sound.

Olivier Benoit (conduction), Sakina Abdou (saxophone), David Bausseron (guitar), Samuel Carpentier (trombon), Nicolas Chachignot (drums), Claude Colpaert (trombone), Pierre Cretel (double bass), Ivann Cruz (guitar), Barbara Dang keyboards), Vincent Debaets (alto and baritone saxophone), Martin Granger (synthesizer), Lune Grazilly (voice), Patrick Guionnet (voice), Martin Hackett (flute and melodica), Philippe Lenglet (guitar), Stéphane Lévêque (bass), Yanik Miossec (clarinet), Maxime Morel (tuba), Christophe "Pher" Motury (trumpet, bugle), Peter Orins (drums), Christian Pruvost (trumpet), Antoine Rousseau (bass), Jean-Baptiste Rubin (saxophone)

La Pieuvre works on several pieces :

- "Prosopôn"

- "Ellipse"


- "Feldspath" (avec Circum Grand Orchestra)

- "Démocratie"


- "Follis"



- et le ciné-concert "La Pieuvre - Germinal"


To know more about La Pieuvre, please upload the document on the right.

La Pieuvre - Ellipse (partie 3)

La Pieuvre - Ellipse (partie 2)

La Pieuvre - Split

La Pieuvre - Ether

JPEG - 186.7 kb
La Pieuvre - Ellipse
JPEG - 56.3 kb
La Pieuvre - Follis
JPEG - 43.9 kb
La Pieuvre - Démocratie
JPEG - 84 kb
1999-2005 - 1er album
JPEG - 155 kb
Ellipse - 2nd album
PDF - 369.1 kb
Dossier de présentation - la Pieuvre

Muzzix is a collective composed of 30 musicians and based in Lille (northern France). Its musical universe goes from contemporary jazz to experimental and improvised music, performed in many various ways, from solo to full orchestras, from concerts to installations or performances.
more

subscribe to
our newsletter

Association Muzzix
51 rue Marcel Hénaux
59000 Lille
Tel : 33 (0)9 50 91 01 72

Siret 488 261 355 00017
APE 9001Z
Licences n°2-1062227
et 3-1062228

Contact

La Pieuvre


Formée à Lille en 1999 par un collectif d’abord informel de musiciens improvisateurs désireux d’expérimenter une forme originale de pratique collective, La Pieuvre fédère une scène complexe et recèle de nombreux groupes aux effectifs plus réduits s’adonnant autant au rock et au jazz (dans leurs ramifications les plus free) qu’à la musique contemporaine, électronique ou sur bandes…

Un espace de recherche

Cette grande formation s’inscrit non seulement dans le champ de la musique improvisée européenne en orchestre mais aussi dans la mouvance de la conduction telle qu’a pu, par exemple, la formaliser Butch Morris (ce dernier ne constituant cependant, dans le cas présent, ni une référence ni un point de départ connu ou revendiqué) ; la musique s’y façonne dans l’instant, se révélant au fur et à mesure qu’elle se fait, sculptée par les signes qu’Olivier Benoit (au demeurant guitariste) adresse à l’organisme vivant qui lui fait face. Gestes, regards, mouvements et mimiques : tous les moyens corporels concourent à cette transmission. Le choix de l’interactivité – qui implique précision et latitude, interprétation et altération, allers et retours d’informations – se voit doublé d’une autonomie et d’une responsabilité individuelles qui confèrent toute sa richesse à l’univers déployé et qui font de cet ensemble singulier un espace de recherche bien davantage qu’un orchestre d’improvisation dirigée.

De l’art de communiquer

Au fur et à mesure des années, l’effectif de l’orchestre s’est stabilisé pour prendre sa forme actuelle. Le travail sur la durée est une des spécificités de cet ensemble. Au fil des projets (avec Jacques Di Donato, Fred Van Hove, Gyorgy Kurtag Jr., Electronicat, ou le ciné-concert Germinal), l’orchestre a échafaudé un son homogène et singulier. _ Chaque personnalité musicale trouve sa place sans occulter celle des autres. Olivier Benoit, le “cerveau” de ce poulpe multisonore, a développé avec chaque membre un art de communiquer original, permettant de faire corps avec eux pour une “inter-(ré)activité” des plus précises entre le geste et le son, entre le son et le geste.

Une œuvre ouverte et continue

Le vocabulaire gestuel, en extension et raffinement continuel, s’élabore et s’assimile in situ, s’adaptant à l’exigence du conducteur : textures, timbres, durées, motifs, cycles et boucles rythmiques, jeux d’opposition, de stéréo ou de multiphonie (que facilitent la topographie du groupe et le redoublement de l’effectif dans certaines fonctions musicales), sont convoqués dans une forme qui se crée, inventée à tous ses degrés, et où convergent les mouvements à l’énergie ductile qui la réalisent : œuvre ouverte, continue et musique unique.

Olivier Benoit (direction), Sakina Abdou (saxophone), David Bausseron (guitare), Samuel Carpentier (trombone), Nicolas Chachignot (batterie), Claude Colpaert (trombone), Pierre Cretel (contrebasse), Ivann Cruz (guitare), Barbara Dang (claviers), Vincent Debaets (saxophones alto et baryton), Martin Granger (synthétiseur), Lune Grazilly (voix), Patrick Guionnet (voix), Martin Hackett (flûte et mélodica), Philippe Lenglet (guitare), Stéphane Lévêque (basse), Yanik Miossec (clarinette), Maxime Morel (tuba), Christophe "Pher" Motury (trompette, bugle), Peter Orins (batterie), Christian Pruvost (trompette), Antoine Rousseau (basse), Jean-Baptiste Rubin (saxophone)

La Pieuvre développe plusieurs projets :

- "Prosopôn"

- "Ellipse"


- "Feldspath" (avec Circum Grand Orchestra)

- "Démocratie"


- "Follis"



- et le ciné-concert "La Pieuvre - Germinal"


Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans le dossier de présentation à télécharger sur cette page.

La Pieuvre - Ellipse (partie 3)

La Pieuvre - Ellipse (partie 2)

La Pieuvre - Split

La Pieuvre - Ether

JPEG - 186.7 ko
La Pieuvre - Ellipse
JPEG - 56.3 ko
La Pieuvre - Follis
JPEG - 43.9 ko
La Pieuvre - Démocratie
JPEG - 84 ko
1999-2005 - 1er album
JPEG - 155 ko
Ellipse - 2nd album
PDF - 369.1 ko
Dossier de présentation - la Pieuvre

Muzzix est un collectif d’une trentaine de musiciens basé à Lille. L’univers musical va du jazz contemporain à la musique expérimentale et improvisée, sous des formes très variées, du solo aux grands orchestres, du concert à l’installation sonore ou la performance.
en savoir plus

s'inscrire à
la newsletter

Association Muzzix
51 rue Marcel Hénaux
59000 Lille
Tel : 33 (0)9 50 91 01 72

Siret 488 261 355 00017
APE 9001Z
Licences n°2-1062227
et 3-1062228

Contact